A Poem For Mom

Life is not the same without her

Sebastian D'Souza
Koinonia
Sep 2, 2024

--

Photo by Evelien Van Den Brink on Unsplash

Mom loved her garden. It was her way of relaxing, along with a cup of tea and some pastry. I will soon scatter her ashes at sea. This is the poem I prepared to speak as part of our little ceremony:

scan of a personal pic of my mom working in her garden in San Francisco

Who would fill me with Christmas cheer?

Who would make me feel so dear?

Who taught me to persevere?

Who fought hardships to bring us here?

Who gave me a constant ear?

Who spoke words to make me sure?

A woman so deserving of honor

A woman so strong yet tender

A woman who talked to every stranger

A woman who loved to seek adventure

A woman who lived like every day mattered

My dear mother. My dear mother.

--

--

Sebastian D'Souza
Koinonia

Writing is a form of therapy. I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area. I enjoy the pursuit of a balanced life.