An App to Help You Focus On God

Have you heard of Lectio 365?

Corine Hilda
Koinonia

--

Lectio 365 app (Photo from 24–7 Prayer website)

Lectio 365 is a free devotional app produced by the 24–7 Prayer movement. Its purpose is to help users to pray according to Bible verses. It’s inspired by the practice of “Lectio Divina,” which is basically meditating on the Bible and using it as a basis for prayer.

My thoughts on contemplative prayer

I’ve not done much contemplative prayer before. It’s easy to be put off when I see how mainstream meditation has become entangled with manifestation and New Age ideology. But meditation can be an amazing part of prayer, and it seems like a good way to take my prayer life deeper.

I’m always a little reluctant to add tools to my quiet time. (It’s not only because I grew up in a Baptist church!) I have a tendency to elevate devotionals, journals, and reading plans to a position for which they weren’t intended. I quickly end up obsessing over them, and feeling guilty if I don’t do them “properly.”

All this to say, I approached this app with some trepidation.

How to use the app

The app is straightforward to use. When you click into it, it will show you the two devotionals available for the day (one for the morning, one for the evening).

--

--