Anger Can Become Your Worst Enemy

Noemi McElearney
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2019

--

Sometimes, someone does something to make us angry. Lately I’ve been feeling pretty emotional. My emotions could be for a variety of reasons. Hormones, stress, insecurity, and anger. I know this. I have thought about all of my faults and have acknowledged them. I’m not pretending I don’t come with flaws or imperfections. I’m human. This is expected of me.

I do have a tendency to let anger get the best of me though. I soak into it, and I become stand offish. I won’t speak to that person for about a week or two.

Photo by Autumn Goodman on Unsplash

Is that good though?

One can only wonder.

The Bible says to forgive. To find it in our hearts to FORGIVE those who do wrong onto us.

I get that part, I understand it. Yet, I don’t usually apply it in real life. Guilty. I’m guilty to being angry, ignoring that person, and staying mad at them for some time.

But who’s it benefiting? Not me.

God says to forgive.

God says to forgive. I keep repeating this to myself but I’m not finding it in my heart to forgive.

That can’t be good.

I think it’s time to reflect. All this ignoring my loved ones, can’t be good for me. But I do feel like I need a break. Unfortunately, my family members don’t believe in breaks…

--

--

Noemi McElearney
Koinonia

I’m a Veteran’s wife and a blessed mom of 2. I write because that’s what I love to do. God Bless ❤️🙏