Be Freed From Sexual Immorality

How to be filled with the Spirit and experience liberty in your situation

Trabby Teachez
Koinonia
3 min readSep 2, 2022

--

How do I get filled with the Holy Spirit?
Photo by Jong Marshes on Unsplash

“But whoever drinks of this water that I will give him will never be thirsty again.” (John 4:14, ESV)

The Bible talks about a woman who struggled with sexual immorality. Every day, she would draw water at the well when no one was around. God one day decided to have a personal appointment with this woman.

He knew the oppression that she was going through, and He, in His love, knew how to get her out of that oppression.

The woman said to him, “I know that the Messiah is coming (he who is called Christ). When he comes, he will tell us all things.” Jesus said to her, “I who speak to you am he.” (John 4:25–26, ESV)

Do you know what name was revealed in this passage?

Messiah and the name mean in Hebrew “anointed” or in Arabic “one who cures by caressing.”

The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor. (Luke 4:18, ESV)

Hallelujah! Jesus is there to bring liberty to captives. Are you in debt? Jesus is there to bring you freedom. Jesus did not oppress the woman in that passage. He, in loving kindness, told her the way out of the oppression she was facing, which was the oppression of sexual immorality (sin itself). He told her how to break out of that sin. How? By being filled with the Holy Spirit of God.

This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. (Galatians 5:16, KJV)

Do you know what those desires are, my friend?

Sexual immorality and every kind of sin are evident among them. It is sin in all its totality. After mentioning these sins in verses 19 to 21, the fruit of the Spirit is mentioned in verse 22. How do you manifest the fruit of the Holy Spirit? By being filled or, in other words, walking in the Spirit. The Bible tells us that against such is no law.

Now, back to our story. Everyone who drinks God’s living water will never be thirsty again. Thirst in the passage represents lack (lack of peace and joy, lack of righteousness, and more). Jesus tells us the solution to all these problems. It is to drink and be filled with the Holy Spirit. When you are filled with the Holy Spirit, you will not fulfill the lust of the flesh.

How to be filled with the Spirit

“He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.” (John 7:38, KJV)

“So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God. (Romans 10:17, KJV)”

God tells you, in other words, that by believing God’s Word (which John mentions also as Jesus Himself in John 1), you are filled with the Holy Spirit.

Become born again today

“Lord Jesus, I confess my sins and ask for your forgiveness. Please come into my heart as my Lord and Savior. I believe today that you are the Son of God and that God raised you from the dead. Take complete control of my life and help me to walk in your footsteps daily by the power of the Holy Spirit. Thank you, Lord, for saving me and for answering my prayer.”

Friend, you are now a child of Almighty God and cleansed by His blood forever. All that He has is yours. All you have to do now is to live by faith and not by sight. He promises you that He will forever love you and never leave you nor forsake you.

Shalom and God bless you, my friend!

--

--

Trabby Teachez
Koinonia

God's love leads us to walk in good works! Find my stories and poems on hudern.medium.com