Be Strong!

But only in the Lord

Violet Escalera
Koinonia

--

Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of his might. (Ephesians 6:10, KJV)

Since our leaders continuously involve our country in warfare, most of us either know someone who saw combat firsthand or someone who knew someone and could share their story.

My dad was in the Korean War and told us some horror stories that would make your toes curl. Once he returned, he ended up on skid row. Eventually, the Lord saved and brought him out of that lifestyle. However, I digress.

Anyway, most of us (if not all) have heard the stories or been touched in some way by the horrors of battle.

As true believers, war hits us every day and all day long. Spiritual combat keeps us on our toes, and yet most of us do not see it. Why? Maybe because the cares of this life have overcome us. Maybe we don’t want to see it or have become so tired of the fight that we gave up a long time ago. Maybe we didn’t know this because we don’t read our Bibles the way we should. Only you know for sure why in your own life.

Whatever the case, Ephesians 6 gives a clear-cut model of what we should do and how to go about it. Recently, I’ve gone over these verses regularly to remind myself daily. After all, if I’m in a battle, why not find out what the Lord says to do? I love the way…

--

--

Violet Escalera
Koinonia

I have 5 children and 2 grandchildren, a Christian, and my husband is my best friend. Take a look at my creative writing, poetry, thoughts on God, and sci-fi!