Blessings in Disguise

Moving beyond past mistakes

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia
2 min readOct 27, 2023

--

Photo by Daniel Mirlea on Unsplash

“I ordered a 60 by 34!!” This was my outburst when a giant family picture frame was delivered to my home. I rang up the photographer, and it turned out, I did not confirm properly the dimensions for the frame. While I was thinking of the dimensions in centimetres, the frame was measured in inches.

My original plan was to hang the picture frame in the living room, but it ended up at the hallway, mostly because of its size.

Each time I walk past this picture, I just hated it! Sometimes I avoid looking at it.

Then one day, I felt like the picture was staring back at me. For the first time, I realised the people in the picture are my family members. These are the people who love and cares for me, the most. And they look beautiful in the picture.

I never realised this, as my focus have always been on the guilt and regret I felt, for not getting a simple dimension right.

Have you allowed the outcome of a mistake to deter you from enjoying life? Perhaps you had an unwanted pregnancy, failed in a relationship, or took a decision that cost you and others greatly.

“Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland. (Isaiah 43:18–19, NIV)

Our heavenly father gives more than second chances, and he truly desires for us to enjoy life amidst our mistakes.

So, it’s time to move on..

--

--

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia

Godlover, Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ. HR Pro & Writer. I am passionate about sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ through Storytelling..