Cardinal Bird

A single contribution, but essential

Katharine Trauger
Koinonia

--

Bright red Cardinal bird perched on branch. Blue background.
Photo by Patrice Bouchard on Unsplash

Something that has helped me lately is the cardinal bird. One of the more noticeable birds God ever gave us, it is the first to wake up in the morning. Despite its beauty, its first morning song is plain. One peep, over and over and over, is all it can manage as the sun is only beginning its ascent.

As the other birds chime in with huge repertoires of warbles, chirps, and twitters, the cardinal, drowned out, gets on with breakfast, (from our cat’s dish) having done its first job — waking the others.

I am the cardinal, in so many ways, not the least of which is: I like red. No reason. I just like it. It’s in my colorway, yes, but I really love red, the deeper, the better. I also love the beautiful way the female cardinal is a sort of olive-red. Looking at it cheers me.

redish tan female cardinal bird. perched on weathered piece of wood. Gray background.
Photo by Joshua J. Cotten on Unsplash

Not much for sleep

Just as the cardinal bird is the first one up and going in the mornings, I rise early. Being retired from the work world, I can sleep all I want, so I find it irritating that I’m often up at 5:30. However, being up with him is how I know the first song of the cardinal bird.

--

--

Katharine Trauger
Koinonia

Jesus lover. Professional Mom. Writer, Speaker, Counselor. Contest winner. Woods dweller. Scratch cook. TheConqueringMom.com . Content completely A.I. free.