Change Starts With Vision

Be the best you

Sebastian D'Souza
Koinonia
3 min readAug 28, 2024

--

Photo by Chermiti Mohamed on Unsplash

In the new movie The Forge, a young man is asked, “What do you want people to think when they see you coming?” Many of us don’t think like that. We believe we have arrived as long as we are happy with ourselves.

The reality is we all have work to do. We have yet to arrive.

  1. Get some clarity on who you want to be

Where there is no vision, the people are unrestrained, But happy is one who keeps the Law. (Proverbs 29:18, NASB)

Vision has a way of keeping us on track. Without it, we run wild.

Who is your role model? It does not have to be someone you know personally. My daughter was deeply influenced by one of my students, Candace. I would come home and explain how impressed I was with this young lady’s spiritual mentality. She gathered a few girls during lunch break to review Bible verses. When anyone tried to irritate her, she immediately turned her attention elsewhere. That had a profound impression on my daughter. My daughter told me she was her role model growing up, even though she never met her. This shows the powerful impact a strong role model can have on our lives.

Do you have a vision for your life? Is it clear?

2. Commit to your vision

It’s not good to waiver when it comes to vision. We must work to make it a reality, or it will not happen.

Elijah went before the people and said, “How long will you waver between two opinions? If the LORD is God, follow him; but if Baal is God, follow him.” But the people said nothing. (1Kings 18:21, NIV)

The people were distracted by Baal, the fertility god associated with wealth and prosperity. Elijah made it clear that they had to choose. Saying yes to our vision means we will say no to everything that contradicts that vision.

One way to avoid distractions is to set goals. Make them achievable. It may require some baby steps, but any movement in the right direction should be celebrated.

3. Articulate your vision and make it known to others

Paul expressed his vision clearly to the Philippian church.

I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ. (Philippians 3:8, NIV)

Accountability is important. God wants us in a community where we can receive support from others. They can help us with our blind spots.

As someone who wants to be a joy-filled Christian, I was greatly helped when a friend told me I had lost my joy. I was going through something difficult in my family, but he did not let me make any excuses. That comment helped me return my gaze to Christ and recover the joy of my salvation, even though things were not going well.

Are there people in your life who can hold you accountable? Are there people who know the kind of person you want to be? Have you expressed your vision to anyone you can trust?

The time to start is now. Put together a clear vision and commit to it. Bring others along for the ride and be the best you.

--

--

Sebastian D'Souza
Koinonia

Writing is a form of therapy. I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area. I enjoy the pursuit of a balanced life.