Come, Give Me a Kiss

The sweetest kisses in life

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia
3 min readJun 28, 2024

--

Photo by Alvaro Reyes on Unsplash

You didn’t greet me with a kiss, but she hasn’t stopped kissing my feet since I came in. (Luke 7:45, CEB)

My little granddaughter is as cute as a button. When she comes for a visit, I want some kisses. I will ask her, “Olivia, will you come give grandma a kiss?”

Usually, she complies, and as her lips meet mine, my heart melts with love for her. I know that I must be patient and never force her to love me. For Olivia’s reciprocal love, I pursue her quietly and patiently.

Now, let’s imagine a different scenario. Let’s say it’s a day where Olivia does not want to kiss me; I could say, “Oliva, come give me a kiss right now, or I am going to spank you.” Would a threat make her kiss one of fear of a spanking or a willing one of love?

Which kiss would I rather have? Of course, I want a willing kiss.

There are two specific kisses of Christ mentioned in the Bible. One was from Judas in betrayal. The other was from the woman from the city who was labeled a “sinner” who kissed Jesus’ feet in a willing act of love. Jesus accepted both of those kisses, although each kiss had a different motive from the giver. Did He love both of these people? Yes, He did!

I think many have come to Christ in fear, including myself. The first time was pure childlike love that drew me to Him, but the next time was out of high anxiety. Did God accept my approach to Him both times?

I know He did.

I wonder, however, which approach was done in an act of devotion? My motive for coming the second time was powered by my need to eradicate fear. My doubt indicated my belief that maybe God did not do His work of salvation when I was a little child. The fear of punishment was my motivator.

Take time to read the story of the prodigal son found in Luke 15.

The prodigal son had words memorized to ask for his father’s forgiveness, which suggests that there may have been a lack of remorse. However, before the son spoke the words, his father looked at his ragged, tattered son from a distance and had great compassion for him. The son did not come home because he loved his father. He came home because His father could fill his need.

Thankfully, God’s love forgives our doubts and fills in all the holes in our faith.

I would not threaten my granddaughter for a kiss. God will also pursue us patiently, taking whatever we bring to Him. His love will accept us, no matter what our motives. Fear, however, can lead to doubts. Don’t be afraid to come to Papa like a child and give Him a kiss.

Prayer:

Thank you, Christ, for never forcing me to love you. It makes me love you even more. Amen

--

--

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.