Count the Cost Because Everything Comes with a Price

Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom

Mary Gallagher
Koinonia

--

“Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom” — (Psalm 90:12 (NIV).

I remember sitting on the filthy floor of the Philadelphia airport next to a men’s bathroom and a smoothie stand because it was the only outlet in the entire concourse I could find that worked where I could charge my cell phone.

I was stuck at that airport for eight hours and, through a miracle, made it home by midnight. All I could think was, “If anyone thinks traveling for work is glamorous they should see me now.”

The problem was there were many more unglamorous and exhausting moments like this than there were fun moments.

Sure, a few times, I did fun things or had the opportunity to see a part of the country I hadn’t seen before, but the trade-off was that I was hardly ever home. My children were growing up, and I didn’t know that we would soon be living 1,800 miles away from them.

My husband sat alone in the evenings while I watched reruns in hotel rooms.

I had a beautiful home, but I was hardly ever there and couldn’t enjoy it!

--

--

Mary Gallagher
Koinonia

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul