MORNING DEVOTIONS

Do You Have Long Toes?

Bett Harris
Koinonia
Jul 4, 2022

--

jackmac34 on pixabay

A friend of mine explained this idea to me years ago and I’ve not forgotten it. Simply put, anyone with long toes inevitably gets them stepped on, regularly. The lesson I learned was to not be easily offended… to not have long toes.

Good sense makes one slow to anger, and it is his glory to overlook an offense. (Proverbs 19:11, ESV)

Our first, fleshly, reaction to being judged, challenged, and/or criticized is to take offense. It’s human nature to take things personally and our natural response is to get angry and defend ourselves. But God tells us otherwise.

A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. (Proverbs 15:1, ESV)

Next time you’re offended, instead of getting angry and defensive, try something different. I often respond with…

“Interesting…I never thought about it like that before!”

--

--

Bett Harris
Koinonia

Previously worked in healthcare and education. Now retired. I love Jesus and want to share Him with everyone who will listen. Writing and doing art are my muse.