Scripture Prompt

Driving On The Road To God’s Goodness

There’ll be plenty of traffic along the way.

Bernice R.
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2022

--

Highway with traffic
Photo by Alexander Popov on Unsplash

I don’t like driving.

I find it scary and will only do it when it’s necessary. The constant anxiety of finding a place to park and the pressure of not knowing how other people will react on the road causes me so much stress.

But all of that stress usually dissipates once I arrive at my destination. The tension that had built up while I was at the wheel releases, as I’m finally where I’m meant to be.

No matter how many times I drive and arrive at a destination safely, the worries and fears are always present. I can see the road in front of me, with its traffic and horn honking and people swerving into my lane without using their turn signal. I can’t see my final destination until I get closer to it.

God’s blessings can be like that. We pray for them to rain down on us, but we don’t know what that final destination will be. In Exodus 33:19, the Bible says:

And the Lord said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the Lord, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.” (NIV)

--

--

Bernice R.
Koinonia

Personal essays, pop culture, and punning. Subscribe to my newsletter for a dose of all three in your inbox: https://bernicespieces.eo.page/newsletter