Dying for Sundays: What if Everyday Was a Day of Rest?

A life of rest changes everything

Mary Gallagher
Koinonia

--

Photo by Avi Werde on Unsplash

As I walk around my neighborhood on Sunday evenings I can’t help but notice the reduced noise, the sense of calm, the different vibe on the streets from what I feel during the week. It’s palpable.

Paying attention, I notice the absence of things. No cars weaving through the streets and roundabouts, no children riding bikes, no grass cutting, or car washing, or shoppers bringing groceries in from the car. Just a peaceful sense of calm and stillness.

Why are Sunday evenings so quiet? I wondered aloud. And then I remembered: a day of rest changes everything.

The silence speaks and reminds me that God’s ways are good.

God told His people to rest. He gave them the Sabbath for this purpose. Jesus reminded the people of this when he said,

The Sabbath was made to meet the needs of people, and not people to meet the requirements of the Sabbath. (Mark 2:27, NLT)

This isn’t our religious duty back to God, this is His gift to us.

What is Sabbath rest, really?

I’ve been learning a lot about Sabbath rest since God grounded me a few years ago. The…

--

--

Mary Gallagher
Koinonia

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul