STRATEGY

Experience Without Evaluation Is Not the Best Teacher

The clock is ticking down again

RodSEMPLE
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2020

--

Interlinking of gear wheels with IMPLEMENT, PLAN, IMPROVE and EVALUATE words imprinted on metal stamped on the metal surface
Continual improvement will only come about after reflection and evaluation: Photo: Shutterstock

The clock is ticking down again.

But today I am writing from a different perspective. Today I want to spend the next twenty minutes in reflection. Reflection on an article I wrote yesterday:

It was John Maxwell who said,

“Experience is not the best teacher; evaluated experience is the best teacher. Reflective thinking is needed to turn experience into insight.”

Consider one thing

If I am serious about mastering the art of writing and publishing, I must make reflection my constant companion.

Each day I need to take five or ten minutes to consider.

One thing

  • that worked well
  • that needs improvement
  • I learned yesterday
  • I need to do today that will bring me closer to success

--

--

RodSEMPLE
Koinonia

My passion is for enlightening, empowering, and encouraging fellow writers to transform their world one story at a time. Together, we inspire change!