Faith Calls Us to Serve

Even during a pandemic

Bebe Nicholson
Koinonia

--

Photo by Josh Hild on Unsplash

Before 2020, I helped at a nonprofit, belonged to several service groups at church, and regularly visited a friend in a nursing home. One of the many negative aspects of the pandemic was the end of those volunteer activities.

The constraints of Covid-19 made me feel like a passive Christian.

Mother Teresa said we are the wire and the current is God. We have the power to let the current pass through us, use us, and produce the light of the world: Jesus.

Passive Christianity, when the current of God isn’t passing through us, is religion losing its strength and is the opposite of the active Christianity Mother Teresa was talking about.

Yet how could I be an active Christian, expressing my faith in this socially-distanced, pandemic world? How could I be the current, when interactions are so limited?

The answer came to me in bits and pieces when I discovered that sometimes God uses us when we least expect it, in ways we don’t anticipate. In other words, God can work through us anywhere, anytime, even during a pandemic.

When the best of plans come crashing down

I ran across the story of a young missionary who entertained grandiose plans of spreading God’s words. She…

--

--

Bebe Nicholson
Koinonia

Writer, editor, publisher, journalist, author, columnist, believer in enjoying my journey and helping other people enjoy theirs. bknicholson@att.net