Four C.S. Lewis Quotes on Trusting God

Trust issues, anyone?

Julie Ranson
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readAug 22, 2020

--

A stone slab with the word “Trust” engraved on it
Photo by Dave Lowe on Unsplash

I’ve had trust issues. Really. Serious. Trust. Issues.

I could tell you some crazy, sad stories to illuminate why I struggle with trust. But, through a Celebrate Recovery study, therapy, prayer, and personal Bible study, I’m getting better.

C. S. Lewis was a brilliant Christian apologist, and today we continue to benefit from his great mind through his writings. I’ve matched four Lewis quotes with scripture. The lesser wisdom that follows each is mine, so I hope you’ll be kind.

I’m trusting you, dear reader.

Trust is foundational

“Relying on God has to begin all over again everyday as if nothing had yet been done.” C.S. Lewis

My honor and salvation come from God. He is my mighty rock and my protection. (Psalm 62:7, NCV)

Trusting God must be a foundational decision that is not based on our current circumstances. He is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow (Hebrews 13:8). We must be grounded in the belief He travels with us through our days. In our daily prayer, we should invite Him along, as this is how our trust will grow.

Peace follows trust

Life with God is not immunity from…

--

--

Julie Ranson
Koinonia

Word Lover. Writer. Self-improver. Believer. Widow. Mother of three adults. Find me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/jjranson