Four Types of Doubt

What Jesus had to say about faith and doubt

Ellis Orozco
Koinonia

--

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

Some may feel that doubt has no place in the Christian life. Others may feel frustrated with their battles with doubt. Others still suffer from debilitating shame over persistent doubt.

Doubt seems to be a part of the human experience. What did Jesus say about doubt?

Jesus and the struggle with doubt

“Be merciful to those who doubt” (Jude 1:22, NIV).

Jesus didn’t treat the idea of doubt systematically. However, I have found (in the Jesus story) at least four completely different experiences that have come to be associated with the idea of doubt.

I hope this brief treatment of each might throw some light on your struggles with doubt.

Doubt as lack of faith

“Immediately the boy’s father exclaimed, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” (Mark 9:24, NIV).

A man wanted Jesus to heal his son. Jesus asked him, “Do you believe I can do it?” The desperate father responded, “I want to believe! Help me where I fail to believe!”

I love this man’s brutal honesty. I resonate with his dilemma. I want to believe, but sometimes my collective experiences (like people I know who don’t…

--

--

Ellis Orozco
Koinonia

Dr. Orozco is a seasoned pastor with advanced degrees in Biblical Studies who seeks to uncover the real Jesus in the most unexpected places.