God Can Resolve an issue with Different Methods

So, keep an open mind.

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia
3 min readAug 7, 2023

--

Photo by Max Ravier

Often, when we have a problem, we could tend to have a preconceived way for its resolution.

There was a time, my family needed money to complete a housing project. We had put in our entire savings for this purpose, and we were kind of running out of cash. Around the same time, I had the opportunity of getting a job, which offered housing loans as part of my benefits. I was excited! God had finally answered my prayers of completing my future home.

Sadly, few months into the job, the benefit was withdrawn by the organisation to all employees. My heart broke in pieces, as I could not fathom any other way forward. In my mind, this was the only way God could answer my prayers.

The scriptures identify situations where God resolved the same issues, but with different approaches. Let’s explore the healing of the blind for example at three different instances.

Healing of two blind men with a TOUCH

When he had gone indoors, the blind men came to him, and he asked them, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” Yes, Lord,” they replied. Then he touched their eyes and said, “According to your faith let it be done to you”; and their sight was restored. (Matt 9:28–289, NIV)

Healing of blind Bartimaeus with WORDS

“What do you want me to do for you?” Jesus asked him. The blind man said, “Rabbi, I want to see.” “Go,” said Jesus, “your faith has healed you.” Immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus along the road. (Mark 10:51–52, NIV)

Healing a “born blind” man with SALIVA & MUD

After saying this, he spit on the ground, made some mud with the saliva, and put it on the man’s eyes. “Go,” he told him, “wash in the Pool of Siloam” (this word means “Sent”). So the man went and washed, and came home seeing. (John 9:6–7, NIV)

When we explore the stories of Jesus’ healing of the blind, at these different instances, we will realise that though the situations were similar, but the approach for healing was quite different.

Sometimes our minds expects the complicated approach to resolution

The bible did not say so, but it was possible that Blind Bartimaeus might have been expecting a more complex approach to healing i.e, Jesus making a paste with mud and robbing it over his eyes, rather than a simple instruction of “Go , your faith has made you healed”. There is a possibility of him doubting that his miracle can happen, in such a simple manner.

This same mindset could be a major hindrance to many breakthroughs today.

In summary, when we are faced with challenges, we need to trust God enough to take us through the resolution journey, he finds appropriate for our situations. And this, can be different every time, even for similar problems. Resolution approach could also differ from person to person.

We serve a dynamic and mighty God, whose ways are highly unfathomable. His thoughts are also far from ours. (Isaiah 55:9)

I make known the end from the beginning, from ancient times, what is still to come. I say, ‘My purpose will stand, and I will do all that I please.’ (Isaiah 46:10, NIV)

--

--

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia

Godlover, Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ. HR Pro & Writer. I am passionate about sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ through Storytelling..