Scripture Prompt

God, If You Give Me Hurdles, I’ll Face Plant

Olympic hurdlers make the 110m hurdles look easy. Hopefully, my spiritual legs are longer than my physical ones

Zo Hayes
Koinonia
Published in
6 min readMay 15, 2020

--

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. (Hebrews 12:1–2, NIV)

Our spiritual journey is like a race. Races are cool, but I pray my spiritual race is not the 110m hurdles.

When I was in junior high, I had a wild idea to run the 110m hurdles. Was I a track athlete? Not at all, but I wanted to stay in shape and hang out with the real track athletes. Since the hurdles were always left unattended, hurdling provided me with an opportunity to stay on the track.

I was inspired to be a hurdler because I watched the best complete this race at an Olympic level. As I stared next to their obstacle of choice, I gained an even deeper appreciation for these athletes. It is mesmerizing watching them use their quickness and…

--

--

Zo Hayes
Koinonia

Builder of Bridges | Lover of Neighbors | Lover of Food