God, You Got This, Right?

Pregnancy thoughts

Mykelti Blum
Koinonia
2 min readJun 29, 2020

--

Ever since I found out about you, my mind has not ceased swarming with thoughts. And then the first ultrasound — seeing your little body in a flicker of lights. It was the most real moment of my life.

I sit and stare at your picture all the time. Every morning and casually throughout the day. I find my hand reaching down to rest on my stomach, waiting to feel the kicks, some act of life.

I still can’t fathom that you will be mine, and I’m already so in love with you. I crave wanting to get to know you.

What will your laugh sound like? Will you like to sing? Will you like to build things like your dad? What activities will you like to do? Will you always want to call me mommy?

I count down the days until I get to hear your little heartbeat again. To know everything is okay. Because it is slightly terrifying. Not knowing. Not knowing if I’m doing this whole “growing you” thing right. I mean with how it’s going so far, you’ll probably be addicted to pizza rolls after this.

There is so much unknown in pregnancy. A lot of fears. A lot of stories of women who have experienced the worst. Surprises that were not expected.

But through the fear, there is also a peaceful truth that comes along with pregnancy, too. The truth that you, my child, are being knit into the beautiful person you are meant to be by our perfect Creator. He already knows the answers to all my questions. He knows who you’ll be, what you will accomplish — He is already so in love with you too.

And that truth…brings a sense of comfort like nothing else can.

I can’t wait to meet you. I can’t wait to hold you and sing the lullabies that my mother used to sing to me.

So I will wait, being patient even in the moments of fear and concern. Because God’s got this.

--

--

Mykelti Blum
Koinonia

Blogger, podcaster, speaker at Heartofthebrave.com. Licensed Social Worker, Adoption Educator. Helping people to be brave, encouraged and live in their purpose.