God’s Blessing at Altgeld Hall

Susan Elizabeth Henson
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readJan 29, 2022

--

Altgeld Hall, University of Illinois-Champaign/Urbana
Altgeld Hall, University of Illinois-Champaign/Urbana (screenshot from author)

My roommate in college and I met one another when I would be leaving a lecture hall and she would be entering. J and her service dog would greet me as I departed that class every Tuesday and Thursday. The class I had was an Economics class which I despised! Seeing J and her dog made attending that dreaded class more tolerable as I began to look forward to it if only for the chance to see her.

I needed that specific course for graduation in the major I had chosen. The reason for my choosing the major of Economics is the result of a complex situation. In a nutshell, I was a business major at my previous university, but I was unable to get accepted into the School of Business at my current university. Upon consultation with my guidance counselor about the situation, it was determined that Economics in the Liberal Arts and Sciences curriculum would be the best choice for me to pursue in my current situation.

Eventually, J and I would meet under less strenuous circumstances. After speaking to my guidance counselor, I learned more about J and soon discovered that she needed a roommate as her current roommate was graduating. Elation filled my soul as I learned of this! I was eager to get to know J more than just passing by each other after class, and sharing an apartment would allow me to do just that.

--

--

Susan Elizabeth Henson
Koinonia

Survivor, writer, animal rescuer, Christ follower, believer. I hope to bring more people to Jesus through my writing. Disability warrior and advocate!