How Can Awareness Make A Difference?

Mary Hood
Koinonia
Published in
2 min readFeb 24, 2019

--

A need for two sets of Eyes.

Photo by Pixabay

We all have the instinct to feed our own appetites.

I can be fully aware while being fully apathetic of the issues that surround me. What turns awareness into action is compassion. Until I truly have compassion on people who are suffering, who are being lied to, who are ignorant, even when they are my abusers, my awareness will keep me at a safe distance. I will build no bridges and fill no gaps.

For years I was aware of a void I could not fill, yet cold stoicism fueled apathy even as self-injury inflicts pain disguised as healing. The compassion and prayers of others are what brought me to realize my need for something more than this world could offer. Even now, years after salvation I struggle with instinct and have a need to know how to have compassion for others.

“And of some have compassion, making a difference: And others save with fear, pulling them out of the fire; hating even the garment spotted by the flesh. Now unto him, that is able to keep you from falling and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy, to the only wise God our…

--

--

Mary Hood
Koinonia

Born twice, I die daily. Serious about Jesus. What I write you may not want to read. Okay. I write what I believe and what I learn from others, just like you.