How I Came to the Conclusion to No Longer Write for Money

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readSep 3, 2019

--

Write to bring others closer to God.

I received this message loud and clear in 2000.

For the next 19 years, I wrote.

  • I wrote devotionals about my journey with God and collected them together in books.
  • I wrote a novella based on a true story.
  • I wrote non-fiction books to improve spiritual and physical health.
  • I wrote children’s activity books to help them learn about the Bible.

But although I wrote to bring others closer to God, I also wanted to earn an income doing so

I had been laid off from my job as an employment counsellor (ironic, I know). I also had lost all my personal training clients when we moved to a new town.

I wanted this new gig as a writer to work out financially.

My husband was gracious to carry the financial burden for the family while I hotly pursued this new writing career.

I organized webinars, teleconferences, and podcasts. I spoke at women’s retreats, churches, and writer’s conferences. I created health challenges and e-courses.

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/