How I Deal With My Fear of Writing

A writer writes

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readOct 3, 2019

--

Photo by skeeze via pixabay

Sometimes I fight writing

I know I have a great idea and I’ve even started it inside my mind, but I put the brakes on.

I don’t want to transfer it to paper because I’m afraid that if I start and then am interrupted by the telephone, or by a child’s cry, or by the dryer’s buzzer I fear that I may lose it altogether.

Instead of starting, I keep it inside to protect and nurture it until the timing is right to let it loose.

But have I lost ideas entirely because of this?

I don’t know.

I can’t remember.

Perhaps blissfully I lose ideas but is this better than knowingly losing ideas?

I’ve never chanced starting to write knowing that I had only 30 minutes to get my idea down. I’ve never risked it. I’m too afraid that if I let the idea loose without completing it, well then, I’d lose it forever.

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/