How I Learned about the Revised Common Lectionary

And insights to Mark 12:24–36

Jill Kelley
Koinonia

--

Photo by Kiwihug on Unsplash

The Upper Room Sunday school class at Nampa First Church of the Nazarene was studying the book of Revelation when I started attending in 2015.

It seemed an odd place for me to start, but I had recently recommitted my life to Jesus and was eager to learn everything about the Word of God. If the Lord wanted me to start at the end, then so be it. The wonder and mystery of end-time prophecy captured my full attention and motivated me to keep coming back.

Right away, I felt blessed to be there because I recognized the high level of education I would be getting from the impressive co-leaders, a husband-and-wife team. The wife, Rhonda Carrim, was a professor of theology at Northwest Nazarene University, and the husband, Errol Carrim, was a reverend as well as a life and leadership development coach.

Rhonda presented insight into God's Word related to context, history, and things like that, while Errol focused on the life application of biblical concepts.

After the book of Revelation, we skipped around through various books of the Bible, delving into Acts, the minor prophets, and Romans a few chapters at a time every Sunday.

--

--