How to Prepare Your Faith for the Worst

The case for pursuing understanding

Sarah K. Butterfield
Koinonia

--

In order to prepare our faith for hard times, we must pursue understanding and cultivate a deeply rooted faith. This is the work of theology.
Photo by Kevin Young on Unsplash

A small group of ladies at my church have been meeting once a week to read and discuss Learning to Walk in the Dark by Barbara Brown Taylor. Every Thursday evening we hop on a zoom call and reflect upon God, and the role of light and darkness in our lives. Carolyn suggested we meet at her house for our final meeting together to eat dinner outside in the dark and discuss the last chapters. We were enthusiastic about the idea, and we circled the date on our calendars.

February in San Diego is considerably warmer than other places, but even so, I was nervous when the high was only 60 that day. By the time dinner came and the sun disappeared, it would be closer to 50.

So I came prepared.

I wore leggings under my jeans. I wore two sweaters and buttoned my peacoat up to the top. I wrapped a scarf around my neck and put my fingerless gloves in my pocket. (Upon further reflection, I’m not sure how I managed to survive the Michigan winters of my college days…)

I walked into Carolyn’s kitchen with a Tupperware box of homemade brownies. Three of the other women were already there, shedding their coats and setting the table… inside. Pastor Karla told me that it was officially too cold to eat outside so we were moving the meal…

--

--

Sarah K. Butterfield
Koinonia

Writer, speaker, and ministry leader. Always seeking to empower others at http://sarahkbutterfield.com