How to Tell the Difference Between a Verb, Adjective, Adverb, and Noun

A shoutout to Schoolhouse Rock videos

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

--

Photo by Monika via pixabay

I love to write

And I have a gift for spelling.

But I’m not good at the subject of English.

In school, I liked to participate in spelling bees and loved to write poetry and stories for my assignments. But I never could remember the rules. I just wrote and it seemed like I understood the rules. They came naturally to me.

I’m not saying this to be arrogant. I don’t know how I know. But I would not make a good English teacher.

For example, I am a co-editor with Janis Cox and Bett Harris of the publication Koinonia. As part of this job, we are to help writers with properly capitalizing their titles.

Writers are given a short explanation of what words to capitalize using the simple AP Old style. Here is what they are told:

Quick and easy is: first and last words of the title.
Plus, all verbs,
adjectives,
adverbs,
proper nouns, and
ALL words with 4 or more letters.

No short prepositions. If they’re over 4 letters (Among, Between, Since, etc.), then yes.

And no conjunctions if they’re less than 4 letters. For example, “After” and…

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/