“I Found It”

What exactly did you find?

Deb Wax
Koinonia

--

Toy model light blue VW van with various stickers from the 1970s. This photograph is © Copyright 2010–2023 to Deb Wax, the photographer. All Rights Reserved. The use of this photograph without the photographer’s written permission is strictly prohibited, and violations will be pursued to the furthest extent allowed under the law. You can find my photographs for commercial use on Shutterstock. There is a charge for the use of any image for commercial purposes.
© 2010–2023 SundayArtist DebW All Rights Reserved

In the ’70s, a popular bumper sticker made the rounds in Southern California and elsewhere. Its enigmatic three-word message had people scratching their heads, wondering what it meant. Readers were perplexed by the sticker’s simple phrase, “I Found It.”

A friend of mine was positive the sticker was from an insurance company in Texas, but another friend thought the bumper sticker referred to the Catholic charismatic movement. I tended to gravitate towards the latter, but I was guessing like everyone else. Although we all had theories, we were without confirmation, and eventually, we forgot about the stickers and went on with life.

I Found … The Answer

Recently, I saw something that jarred my memory concerning that old sticker, and my curiosity got the best of me. After taking a stroll down memory lane, I decided to search for an answer to the question that had baffled my friends and me so many years ago.

Less than a minute in cyberspace led me to the history and meaning of the I Found It bumper sticker. The sticker with the simple message was part of a campaign created by the Christian group Campus Crusade for Christ. The “It” in I Found It meant “a new life in Christ” (i.e., I Found a new life in Christ).

--

--

Deb Wax
Koinonia

Deb is a former technical writer who now enjoys penning "two-cent hyperbole."