I Pledge Allegiance to God

A statement of faith and devotion

Abraham Raymond Eli
Koinonia
Published in
8 min readSep 30, 2019

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Why I am a Christian

I am a Christian, not because I regularly attend weekly meetings in a building called a “church,” but because, after I heard the message of Christ’s love for me and His forgiveness of my sins through the gospel, I surrendered my heart (the seat of my decision-making, emotions, thoughts, and all that I am). Indeed, I surrendered my life in its entirety to His care and reign. This is important because, if I didn’t understand and appreciate this, and get it into my system, I would be tempted to be loyal to my local church or to the evangelist who preached to me, rather than to the Lord who loved me and gave Himself for me!

A brief etymology of the term “Christian”

Today, there are many people who claim to be Christians whose allegiance is primarily to country before even the church!

Perhaps, they don’t know where the appellation, “Christian,” comes from. It dates back as far as the 1st Century A.D. It can be traced to Antioch, a small Syrian town, where this name was given to a group of Gentiles (non-Jews) who had heard the good news of God’s salvation and of His kingdom, had surrendered their hearts to the care and reign of the Lord Jesus Christ, and had thus submitted themselves to…

--

--

Abraham Raymond Eli
Koinonia

Called to proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ and make disciples through the teaching of the word of God, in the power of the Holy Spirit. Married to Grace.