Introducing Jim Dakis

Advises new writers to flex and change

Julie Ranson
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readJun 9, 2022

--

Writer supplied photo

Jim Dakis lives in Wichita, Kansas. You can find him on Medium at Living Faith by James M. Dakis.

When did you join Medium? Why did you join?

January 2021; It is my desire to broaden the reach of my writing and to network with other writers.

When did you join Koinonia? What attracted you to the publication?

October 2021; I appreciated that it was a Christian/faith-based publication and hoped that it would bring a more focused reading audience to my work as well as better content for me to read.

How long have you been writing and how did you come to it?

I don’t remember ever not writing, but I started publishing online with a blog for a non-profit that I ran over ten years ago. It is a passion that has burned in me since I was a child and a gift given to me by God. I discovered it probably when given writing assignments as a child in school and never looked back.

Who has most influenced your decision to be a writer?

My parents. While my mother died almost twenty years ago, my father still reads my work and encourages me.

Where do you get your ideas? What inspires you?

--

--

Julie Ranson
Koinonia

Word Lover. Writer. Self-improver. Believer. Widow. Mother of three adults. Find me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/jjranson