July First 2019

A poem

Gordon McFarland
Koinonia
2 min readJul 1, 2019

--

In this sea of memories
darkness and storm
mountainous waves
of pain and regret and
wounds that won’t heal
I flounder

Earlier this night
I left the boat to swim
for shore and safety
but the storm was too strong
and in desperation
I scrambled for and clung to
my inadequate craft

Now, like a Siren,
despair calls from the depths
I know its song
Its invitation to plunge
into the deep and dark
and bottomless abyss

Then I see You on the waves
A strong and solid rock
that never sinks
A light brighter than the sun
A man A God

The Man The God

“Despair is sin”. You say
“It is the easy way.
Do the impossible now.
Walk to me.”

“I will calm the waves.
I will heal your wounds
I will be faithful
Even when you are faithless
Walk to me now
across the ocean of your failures.”

This story is published in Koinonia — stories by Christians to encourage, entertain, and empower you in your faith, food, fitness, family and fun.

We are a Smedian Publication. Find out about us and how to write for us.

--

--