Just a Minute Devotional #2

Trials that weigh us down

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia
1 min readJul 30, 2024

--

Photo by Carolina on Unsplash

My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. (Psalm 121:2, ESV)

I haven’t written for a while and can’t blame it all on Beryl. It’s a culmination of trials. Between serious health concerns, surgeries, family issues, politics, country, and world upheaval, Beryl was the straw that almost broke the camel’s back.

You notice “Almost!”

As I slowly see the debris cleared, the refrigerator restocked, and the house cooled and cleaned, I know I must commit myself to writing again.

Helpful scripture:

We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed. (2 Corinthians 4:8–9, NIV)

God is telling me, “You may get knocked down, Jenny, but with my help, you must, and you will get up again. I am the creator of heaven and earth and can strengthen you.”

So I lift my cup of cheer to Him, my Lord, my Savior, and my Papa. Upward and onward in this race of life, and by His strength, I will follow.

Will you join me?

Prayer:

By Your power and your might, Father God, I will rise from the depths of despair to follow you.

--

--

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.