Just a Minute Devotional #7

Thoughts on Being Kind

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia
2 min readAug 16, 2024

--

Photo by Andrey K on Unsplash

Because thy loving kindness is better than life, my lips shall praise thee. (Psalms 63:3, KJV)

There are kind people in the world, but I find these days that chivalry is dead, common courtesy is gone, and patience is negligible. Sometimes, as we go through trials and tribulations, we view God as cruel, unfair, and unjust.

At these very times, I draw closer to Him.

When life is cruel, I go to God in prayer:

  • He dissuades my doubts
  • He calms my fears
  • He comforts my hurting soul

By His sacrifice, He is the epidemy of lovingkindness. We can depend on that knowledge instead of our fluctuating feelings.

I ask others to join me in prayer, to seek His word, to get answers, and to receive some comfort. We are never alone when in God's presence.

His lovingkindness scoops us up in His arms and holds us tight. In the process, God makes our lives not merely tolerable but abundant. We finally become aware of our bountiful blessings as our hearts of faith grow in His security.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6–7, NIV)

Prayer:

Lord, I praise you because your loving kindness is better than life itself.

--

--

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.