Just a Minute Devotional #8

Waiting our turn

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia
2 min readAug 20, 2024

--

Photo by Lucia Macedo on Unsplash

Praise the Lord, my soul, and forget not all his benefits — who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. (Psalm 103:2–5, NIV)

When I was ten, I had to sit in the back of our station wagon. Between the hairpin curves, hills, wind noise, and gravel dust, I would be car-sick when we got to church. It wasn’t until my older siblings began to leave home that I graduated to the front seat. I had to wait my turn.

It is so nice to know that the moment we say yes to God’s call, we immediately reap all the benefits of adoption. We gain total forgiveness and full access to all God offers, such as redemption, compassion, renewal, and healing.

We always had access to these benefits; our eyes will open to that fact when we taste, see, and take refuge in the Lord.

Why sit in the back seat on your spiritual journey? Jesus is asking you to join Him in the front seat called grace. The place of honor is yours for the taking.

Prayer:

Thank you, Father, for showing me my back-seat condition. I will join you in front. Amen

--

--

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.