Losing a Loved One

And the hope graciously offered to those in Christ Jesus

Amy Usherwood
Koinonia
2 min readJul 18, 2020

--

The past two weeks have been tremendously difficult. I acknowledge that I am an individual prone to exaggeration, but I assure you, this is not one of those situations.

One of my dearest and closest friends took her life.

Previous to this, I have lost two grandparents, but nothing can truly prepare you for the shock, trauma, and loss of this kind. Though I mourn and grieve with so many others who loved and adored her, those of us who believe in Jesus Christ, do not grieve without hope.

But we do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve as others do who have no hope. For since we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so, through Jesus, God will bring with him those who have fallen asleep. (1 Thessalonians 4:13–14, ESV)

In the face of tragedy, these words have given me a renewed gratitude for what the cross has done and what it represents. Indeed, we do not grieve as those without hope, because the reality is, my friend knew Jesus intimately. This means I will not only see her again, but we will also spend eternity together.

As an aside, this does not mean that I don’t wish she was able to turn her eyes to Jesus in her final moments or reach out to someone in her hour of need. It does mean that I believe that God’s redemptive blood and forgiveness are not defined or changed by our last act, or mistake on earth.

If you’re dealing with loss — cling to Jesus. No matter the circumstance, He is near to the brokenhearted. In times of tremendous pain, scripture has never failed in soothing the ache and sorrow. Besides the Bible, I have found On Death by Timothy Keller and A Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis, remarkable companions as well.

Speak and meditate on the truth of Christ, daily. He is always close, and always near.

--

--

Amy Usherwood
Koinonia

Christian of the reformed variety. Graphic Designer, Illustrator, and Singer-Songwriter based in Ottawa, ON.