March 2024 Word Prompt

Maybe You’re Born With It

Koinonia Prompt #17: Resilience

Julie Ranson
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readMar 12, 2024

--

flower pushing through sidewalk crack. picture of resilience
Photo by Nesrin Öztürk

I dunno, I guess I was just forced to become resilient,” a friend recently shared over breakfast and the book we’re studying together.

I pushed back on that (she lets me do such bold things) with a question: “Were you forced or did you choose to be a resilient person?”

Honestly, I do my best thinking alone, and not always at the moment a thought is required. I suppose my question to her had a distinction without a difference — why did it matter how she became resilient? Does it really matter that we understand the how of who we are or who we’re becoming?

That reminded me of a commercial from the 90s. The tagline was: Maybe she’s born with it. Maybe it’s Maybelline.

Resilience requires adaptation and flexibility. Those words take me to the nature vs nurture debate. Oh, my brain! Again, I ask:

Does it really matter that we understand the how of who we are or who we’re becoming?

Resilience is the process and outcome of successfully adapting to difficult or challenging life experiences, especially through mental, emotional, and behavioral flexibility and adjustment to external and…

--

--

Julie Ranson
Koinonia

Word Lover. Writer. Self-improver. Believer. Widow. Mother of three adults. Find me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/jjranson