Meet John Michalak

Believes writing can be a holy act

Julie Ranson
Koinonia
Published in
6 min readApr 1, 2024

--

Photo supplied by JM

John Michalak lives near Nashville, Tennessee. Check out his writing profile at John Michalak.

When did you join Medium? Why did you join?

I began writing on Medium in mid-January 2024. I joined to expand my reach as a writer, to find more direct engagement with readers and other writers.

When did you join Koinonia? What attracted you to the publication?

I appreciated, first off, the name “Koinonia,” a Greek word I’ve studied and loved in the past. The idea that people can join together in healthy, fulfilling community has always felt like one of the more fundamental reasons to be alive. Also, I admired Koinonia’s faithfulness to God and the Gospel, but under that umbrella, inviting a diversity of Christian writers to participate.

How long have you been writing and how did you come to it?

I’ve been writing since I was a child. The first time I remember was probably over 45 years ago. I’ve been writing professionally since getting my undergrad English degree, around 30 years ago. I’ve long thought of myself as a writer in the existential sense. It’s who I am before it’s what I do. I think those who are called to write have a talent with words they can develop. But they are more than wordsmiths. They are…

--

--

Julie Ranson
Koinonia

Word Lover. Writer. Self-improver. Believer. Widow. Mother of three adults. Find me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/jjranson