Meet My Idol

It’s not a celebrity

Julie Ranson
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readAug 3, 2022

--

Photo by Johnson Wang on Unsplash

You shall have no other gods beside me. (Exodus 20:3, NIV)

I have an idol in my life. My idolatry gets in the way of my time with God, my devotion to Him, and my surrender to His plans for my life.

You see, my idol is productivity.

an idol is “anything more important to you than God, anything that absorbs your heart and imagination more than God…” Tim Keller

Productivity is what I strive for every single day, even on weekends. Write the list, enter schedules in the planner, check off my accomplishments. Sometimes, I report my happy check marks to others. Quite proudly, too. It’s what they expect of me, after all.

Admittedly, I have much to do. Settling my husband’s estate, managing the household (me and two dogs), and keeping up with my writing can fill my days.

At times, I realize that it’s nearly dinner time and I’ve yet to read God’s word.

My weekly planner is no golden calf (Exodus 32), but I bow to its (my) precepts as though my plans are golden. Don’t get me wrong. I do pray about my goals and ask for His guidance in organizing and executing these things. He has plans for me too and tuning into His plans is my daily goal. Well, except on those days I’m scurrying around getting my

--

--

Julie Ranson
Koinonia

Word Lover. Writer. Self-improver. Believer. Widow. Mother of three adults. Find me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/jjranson