Money is a Tool

Mukkove Johnson
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readFeb 25, 2019

Daunting.

Starting a business is daunting. There are so many things I don’t know. Some days it feels like there are even more I don’t know I don’t know yet!

What I do know is God called me to start this business. So, I keep saying yes.

I’ve always had ideas for making money. Most have not really produced.

A little over a year ago my husband and I had a hard conversation about finances that started me on a prayer journey with the Lord.

God has been challenging me to dream bigger, way bigger than I can do on my own. He has been challenging me to stretch beyond what I think I can do, beyond what I see myself doing, way beyond the impact I believe I can make.

He gets the credit

There’s none of it He wants me to do on my own and none of it He wants me to take credit for. He wants to build a business and an influence through me.

That makes the task a lot less daunting. When I remember it’s for Him and by His strength I can relax. It’s up to me to obey, not to produce. I have to trust Him enough to do what He says no matter how much it stretches me. The current daunting area of stretching is pricing. This might scare a lot of you off but I firmly believe God has called me to make a lot of money. One of the verses He keeps highlighting to me is:

And thou hast remembered Jehovah thy God, for He it is who is giving to thee power to make wealth, in order to establish His covenant which He hath sworn to thy fathers as at this day. Deuteronomy 8:18 Young’s Literal Translation

He gives me the power to create wealth so He can expand His Kingdom!

Like it or not, we live in a world where money is necessary. I always wished it wasn’t, but it is. Money is a tool. Like any tool how it gets used is determined by whose hand it’s in. I want to always be humble and obedient so money will be a powerful tool for the Kingdom in my hand.

Is there a daunting task God is calling you to let Him do through you?

This is my 17th post in a writing challenge by Janis Cox. She has given 28 prompts. I have committed (being accountable to myself here!) to write for 15 minutes a day on one of her prompts (this one was daunting). I then have 15 minutes to polish and post so there’s not much polishing. As I said in my first post of this challenge it’s getting me back to writing instead of producing. Still, I hope my thoughts are a blessing and you’ll keep reading.

This story is published in Koinonia — stories to encourage, entertain, and empower you in your faith, food, fitness, family and fun.

--

--

Mukkove Johnson
Koinonia

Discipling Mothers to Disciple Nations - Author and creator of Heart Doodling with Jesus. Mother of 3 married young adults and a 7 yo. https://linktr.ee/mukkove