My Adventure as a Snowmobiler to Spot a Moose

And how the adventure continues to this day

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readMay 12, 2019

--

Photo by skeeze via pixabay

The closest I’ve come to spotting a moose was at the Moose Café & Grill in Northern Ontario. Only 18 kilometers from Huntsville, my husband and I have snowmobiled there for their classic Moosecakes (fluffy pancakes served with maple blueberry sauce) and hot chocolate.

The atmosphere in the café is unique with a gift shop that features maple treats and photos of moose that you can buy right off the wall. We always laugh at the unique sayings displayed on the chalkboard and especially enjoyed the advice offered from our country’s most famous (and wisest) member of the deer family:

“Advice from a moose: Think big. Spend time in the woods. Eat plenty of greens. Hold your head up high. Stay on track. Keep your nose clear. It’s OK to be a little wild!”

However, no matter how much I admire the great Canadian mammal and no matter how many times I’ve eaten at the Café, I have yet to spot a real live moose.

My husband, an avid snowmobiler, has seen a moose many times.

He’s bragged to me about the size of the bull moose being taller at the shoulder than my husband’s 5 foot 9 inch (1.8 meters) frame with antlers that span over six feet wide…

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/