‘My Brothers and Sisters’ Means He Won the Battle

It’s a subtle but world-shattering change

Donnell King
Koinonia

--

Maybe we’re so used to reading the Easter story that we miss multiple truly astonishing elements in it.

For instance, when you read Mark’s account it may strike you that the only thing Mary Magdalene, Mary the mother of James, and Salome found more terrifying than a dead Jesus was a live Jesus.

But [a young man in a white robe] said to them, “Don’t be alarmed! You are looking for Jesus of Nazareth, who was crucified. He has been raised. He isn’t here. Look, here’s the place where they laid him. Go, tell his disciples, especially Peter, that he is going ahead of you into Galilee. You will see him there, just as he told you.” Overcome with terror and dread, they fled from the tomb. They said nothing to anyone, because they were afraid. (Mark 16:6–8, CEB)

Along with all those astounding happenings, we find one in John’s account that is both more subtle and even more astounding.

Welcome to the family

Jesus said to her, “Don’t hold on to me, for I haven’t yet gone up to my Father. Go to my brothers and sisters and tell them, ‘I’m going up to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.’” (John 20:17, CEB)

--

--

Donnell King
Koinonia

Communication nerd. Christ follower. I write about speaking, writing, using Zoom effectively for impact. Check out cool links at https://linktr.ee/donnellking