My Fifteen-Second Biscuit Recipe

Really as fast as whop biscuits

Katharine Trauger
Koinonia

--

I used to have six little ones running around my feet, and a husband who regularly left the house early and forged his way through five miles of untouched woods with a machete, daily. I had to make food happen fast.

One day, after many decades of homemaking, I decided to try a recipe that had been floating around in my head for weeks. It involved substituting whole cream for butter and milk in making biscuits.

After several failed attempts, I found the ratios and was it EVER easy!

American biscuit, split, with bacon, egg, and cheese inserted inside.
Image by WandererCreative @ PixaBay.com

Not European biscuits

Lest we be confused, this story is not about dessert-type biscuits or tea-type biscuits. This is about American biscuits that serve exactly as any other bread stuffs, as a vehicle for melting butter, and adding jelly, jam, gravy, syrup, or bacon/egg/cheese. In other words, this biscuit is not to be served after the meal, but AS the meal.

And rightfully so. No one wants a dessert that can be stirred up without thinking, as this recipe can be. No, for dessert we want something with layers or delicate icings or plenty of raisins or…

--

--

Katharine Trauger
Koinonia

Jesus lover. Professional Mom. Writer, Speaker, Counselor. Contest winner. Woods dweller. Scratch cook. Studying how to shut down A.I. TheConqueringMom.com