Perfectly Thorough

Mukkove Johnson
Koinonia
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2019
photo credit getstencil.com

thor·ough /ˈTHərō/ adjective

complete with regard to every detail; not superficial or partial.

performed or written with great care and completeness.

taking pains to do something carefully and completely.

I like to be thorough. That “not superficial” part of the definition — me for sure. I have to be careful because thorough often translates “perfect”. (I've written about my retranslating of words in other posts in this challenge. However, I’m out of time to find them right now.) Perfection and performance are not my friends. They’re not yours either.

This 28 Prompt Challenge has been stretching me to do well enough. (Thus not taking extra time to find the links I’m thinking of.) It’s been a blessing for me to have people be blessed by my efforts that are not as thorough as I would want them to be.

I’m thankful for a God who is perfectly thorough. My salvation is complete and secure. He promises to complete the work He has started in me. He is constantly working everything to my good and benefit because I’m submitted to His loving plan.

He wastes nothing. Any wound or mistake can be turned to be used for His glory. That’s thorough.

I can rest in doing the best I can, being thorough, because my God is perfect. He wants a devoted heart, not perfection. I’m so thankful.

This is my 27th post in a writing challenge by Janis Cox. She has given 28 prompts. I have committed (being accountable to myself here!) to write for 15 minutes a day on one of her prompts (this one was the thorough). I then have 15 minutes to polish and post so there’s not much polishing. As I said in my first post of this challenge it’s getting me back to writing instead of producing. Still, I hope my thoughts are a blessing and you’ll keep reading.

This story is published in Koinonia — stories to encourage, entertain, and empower you in your faith, food, fitness, family and fun.

--

--

Mukkove Johnson
Koinonia

Discipling Mothers to Disciple Nations - Author and creator of Heart Doodling with Jesus. Mother of 3 married young adults and a 7 yo. https://linktr.ee/mukkove