Plans for a Future and a Hope

The journey of pursuing our calling

Therese Francis
Koinonia
4 min readDec 23, 2022

--

Author’s photo (Nov 2022): Mountain view on a clear day

How much of our future are we able to see? How much hope do we have for this much of our future that we see?

On a recent retreat at the foot of a mountain, I took a few walks as part of my quiet time in the morning. One particular day, the sky was clear and I had a full view of the majestic mountain in the near distance. I marveled at the view of the mountain and surrounding landscape, breathed the fresh air, relished the sound of birds and crickets, and allowed the cool breeze to embrace me. It was a refreshing moment, a moment of peace, a moment of hope.

Author’s photo (Nov 2022): Mountain view on a cloudy day

A few days later, I walked back to the same spot, hoping to relive the beautiful moment, to rejuvenate my soul. To my disappointment, the clouds had come in and covered the view of the whole mountain. The surrounding landscape was still beautiful nonetheless, but it was not the same experience with the mountain in the backdrop. It was really cloudy, and it was unlikely that the clouds would clear within the day for the mountain to show itself.

As I stood there, a clearing appeared among the clouds, allowing a segment of the mountain to be shown. As a gentle breeze pushed the clouds, the clearing in the clouds moved across the mountain, framing and revealing one portion of the mountain at a time. Though I could only see a part of the mountain, I knew the beauty and splendor of the mountain still existed and stood among the clouds.

This was a moment of inspiration. I have had a glimpse of how I would like to spend my time and live my life. I have an inkling of what I find fulfilling and the groups of people to whom I’m called to. I wish I could do all these NOW, live the way I would like to NOW. Similar to enjoying the full view of the mountain and the landscape on a clear day, this vision of my dream is energizing and exciting. Of course I would I want it now.

And so, I get discouraged when these plans and dreams seem unachievable. To me, it is like not being able to see the mountain behind the clouds that are unlikely to clear up that day. It is as if the plans for my future do not exist.

However, I know the mountain is always behind the clouds. It does not disappear just because it has been covered. So is my future ahead of me. It does not cease to exist just because I am unable to see it clearly.

The clouds covered most of the mountain, but the clearing formed a frame that drew focus to a segment of the mountain. Perhaps in the pursuit of my future, there are times when the big picture will be blurred by doubts, obstacles, and distractions. However, these are not meant to prevent the future from coming true. Instead, they are ways to draw attention to specific building blocks that piece together my dreams.

As the wind moved the clouds, the clearing drew focus to another segment of the mountain. It is as if the next step towards building my future is revealed. The path towards achieving my dreams may be a long one comprising many steps. If I were to see the the whole road ahead, perhaps I may get intimidated and discouraged. Therefore, it may be God’s way of showing me only one step at a time until I eventually walk the whole journey.

As I continue to journey towards the future that I’m called to, I ask God for the grace of perseverance and openness. I pray for the humility to allow myself to be guided and pruned for the future that I’m called to. May I always hold firm to hope that the promise of a future, and plans for peace will be fulfilled.

Yes, I know what plans I have in mind for you, Yahweh declares, plans for peace, not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope (Jeremiah 29:11, NJB)

--

--

Therese Francis
Koinonia

Encounter, reflect and share life stories. Instagram@therese.francis.inspirations