Restoring Love: Third Sunday of Advent

Giving: a love language

Julie Ranson
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readDec 11, 2022

--

Photo by Işıl Agc

You’d have to be pretty hard-hearted not to get slightly sappy around Christmas time. My dear husband, Bob, was a loving, giving man, but he quietly questioned my exuberance for decorating this time of year. I often felt the brakes being applied… oh so subtly.

To be honest, I pretty much kept the decorating gas pedal to the floor. Any reduction in decor was based on my schedule or feelings in any given year.

I’d limited my outdoor decor to a wreath and a few bows here and there. But a few years ago, I got inspired by the crazy Christmas tree trend in outdoor decorating. To his credit, Bob supported my new outdoor lighting effort. (I’d finally turned him onto Christmas decor!) In his last two years, I changed the target tree to one he could see from his recliner. He truly loved it.

Author’s photo

To be completely fair to Bob and his occasional grinch-iness, I could never out-give him on Christmas morning. Giving was certainly his love language. He located some of the most outstanding gifts. Items I’d never given a second thought to, but somehow he knew. And the jewelry… sigh… gorgeous, unusual things.

--

--

Julie Ranson
Koinonia

Word Lover. Writer. Self-improver. Believer. Widow. Mother of three adults. Find me everywhere: https://linktr.ee/jjranson