Scary Things Happen to Me When I Stop Reading the Bible

When your faith starts to waver, the devil strikes brutally

Febrina Arin
Koinonia
3 min readMar 22, 2024

--

Illustration by Author

My Bible and journal lay untouched on the small table next to my bed, gathering a layer of dust. It had been a week since I last had a chance to open them.

My 9-to-5 job exhausts me, and I doze off as soon as I get home. Worse, it’s also made me too lazy to read a few verses.

I thought everything would be fine because I wasn’t skipping my daily prayer; truthfully, it was more of a checklist prayer.

But, oh, I was wrong.

One night, I had this super scary dream. I dreamt that my best friend had passed away in a car crash, and the next thing I knew, I was at her funeral. But here’s the creepy part — just as I was standing there, grieving away, my phone started ringing.

It was a call from her, the person lying there motionless in front of me. I answered, and we talked and laughed like we always do, but the call ended suddenly, and I realized it was time to bury her.

After the funeral, it was already dark, so I stayed at my aunt’s house since the funeral was in another city. But I felt like someone was watching me, so I told my aunt everything, including the strange phone call, and she was shocked. She warned me, saying, “That could open a portal to you. You might be attacked!” (Oh my, I still get goosebumps thinking about it.)

My aunt quickly made me a hot drink, and we hurried to someone’s house (I still don’t know whose it was). We ran as fast as we could through the busy city streets filled with people and cars, yet the atmosphere felt terrifying. Suddenly, my aunt spotted something above us and shouted, “Look up!

Guess what we saw? Four evil spirits hovering above us!

We had no choice but to run through them, but more evil spirits kept appearing. Finally, the last one, who looked exactly like my best friend, locked eyes with me before falling right in front of me.

End.

I open my eyes, feeling sweaty and trying to recall my dream. All of a sudden, my dog, Milo, who was sleeping beside me, woke up too and began barking and trying to get out of the room. Milo ran to the living room, where she continued barking louder. Her attention was on something outside.

At that moment, I felt so scared and decided not to peek out the window because deep down, I had a feeling I knew what it was. I quickly returned to my room and said a quick prayer, asking for forgiveness and protection from God.

A lesson to always wear the shield of faith

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. (Ephesians 6:10–11, NIV)

You know, when you make a serious commitment to God, you must accept that your life is not yours anymore but God’s. Every action, every thought, becomes an offering to Him. Starting and ending your day with prayer and reflection on His Word helps build your shield of faith.

Whenever I get a bit lazy about spending time with God, whether it’s for a day, a few days, or even a whole week, I end up having these crazy dreams where the devil tries to attack me. This has happened to me multiple times.

A Christian with unshakable faith is marked as the #1 enemy of Satan. That’s why, when they saw our shields become thinner, it created a gap for them to attack. So, be careful. They’ve been waiting to see us off guard.

Spiritual warfare is real, and I’ve experienced it so many times. But the good news is, God doesn’t want us to fight alone! He equips us with special armor for protection. So, strengthen yourselves in the Lord Jesus Christ.

God bless you.

Hey, you are amazing!

If you enjoyed this article, you can help me by sharing it with others, giving it claps, leaving comments, and be sure to follow. Your support means the world to me! Thank you!

Read more

--

--

Febrina Arin
Koinonia

Hi, I'm Arin! I love sharing about life, faith, and Christian insights, hoping to draw you more closer to God. My portfolio🔻 https://febrinaarin.my.canva.site