Seeing With the Eyes of My Soul

Helen Olivier
Koinonia
Published in
2 min readMay 20, 2019

(While working in a far away country, helping kids with special needs, I sometimes missed the blue skies and beauty of home until the Lord again helped me to look at what really mattered)

Photo by Cristian Newman on Unsplash

I live inside this grey cocoon,
No beauty can I see,
Outside so far away I know,
The flowers still will bloom,
I know the Master who creates,
Made rivers, stream and trees,
But inside my cocoon it’s grey,
I see no colour here,
I long to feel a gentle breeze,
To see the stars up high,
O Lord, You made all things so good,
The sunset and the rain,
But inside in this grey cocoon,
I cannot see Your works,
I cannot see the beauty, Lord,
How will my soul survive?
But then I looked and saw her there,
Inside my grey cocoon.
A little child who needed love,
Created by His hand,
I saw the crown of all he made,
For those, He shed His blood,
And in my grey cocoon, I heard,
A melody of love.

This story is published in Koinonia — stories by Christians to encourage, entertain, and empower you in your faith, food, fitness, family and fun.

We are a Smedian Publication. Find out about us and how to write for us.

--

--

Helen Olivier
Koinonia

An ordinary women called by an extraordinary God to spread His love and write when the Spirit moves my heart.