Simple Breathing Practices to Help You Deal with Stress

3 of the simplest exercises you can do anywhere at anytime

Mary Gallagher
Koinonia

--

Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

My company recently brought in a motivational speaker to help us develop some practical strategies to deal with stress and avoid burnout while being productive and achieving goals. I applaud the leadership at my company for including the part about avoiding burnout.

Our guest speaker was Jannell MacAulay and she is an expert at staying calm in stressful, high-stakes situations like refueling fighter jets in the air. That kind of makes my stress feel like child’s play, but stress is stress and we all have to deal with it.

To be honest, I almost tuned her out as she was introducing herself because I grew exhausted just listening to her list of accomplishments: U.S. Air Force combat pilot and military leader, a master's degree in kinesiology, and a Ph.D. with work in the field of strategic health & human performance.

She is also a certified wellness educator, and yoga instructor and holds a certificate in plant-based nutrition. In addition, she is a TEDx speaker, military spouse, and mother of two. That’s not even her full bio, but you get the idea.

After a lifetime of striving and never feeling like I was performing well enough on a personal or…

--

--

Mary Gallagher
Koinonia

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul