Stay Where God Sent You

If you are certain of His call, you’ll be certain of His presence

Olugbenga Ojuroye
Koinonia

--

When God called Abraham, He said:

The LORD had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you. (Genesis 12:1, NIV)

It wasn’t Abraham’s idea to leave Haran. He was comfortable there. He was a rich man with many servants. But God told Abraham to go to a land he had never seen before.

To comfort Abraham and convince him that following this direction was the right choice, God made the following promises:

“I will make you into a great nation,
and I will bless you;
I will make your name great,
and you will be a blessing.
I will bless those who bless you,
and whoever curses you I will curse;
and all peoples on earth
will be blessed through you.” (Genesis 12:2–3, NIV)

As much as we like to tell ourselves that we do certain things because they are the right things to do or because we love God, I think in many cases we are motivated by incentives.

I don’t mean that humans are an absolutely selfish species. But there’s a limit to how far we can go without guarantees.

If Abraham didn’t need to hear the promises, I don’t think God would have bothered telling him.

--

--

Olugbenga Ojuroye
Koinonia

Olugbenga is a writer who explores various topics in Christianity. Pick up his latest book, “Finding Eden - Devotional” on Amazon!