Scripture Prompt

Surrendering Our Plans

His ways are higher than ours

Melissa Morris
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readOct 21, 2022

--

Photo by Melissa Askew on Unsplash

Have you ever sat and planned your life for it to look nothing like what you thought it would?

If you had told me ten years ago what my life would look like now, I wouldn’t have believed you.

I had my whole life planned out, including what degree I would study and the job I would get.

I have been a planner all my life, constantly thinking ahead and having plans B, C, and D if plan A didn’t work.

The job I thought was my dream job wasn’t, and God opened unexpected doors to other opportunities.

God had been there at each twist and turn, reminding me that his plans were not mine.

Sometimes it’s in the little things about not going to an event. Other times it’s a significant life change to move internationally.

In these moments, it’s easy to grumble and throw a tantrum. However, God wants us to surrender willingly.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.” (Isaiah 55:8, ESV)

Nearly 12 months ago, I returned to Australia from France. It wasn’t my plan. But it was something I very clearly dug my heels in on.

--

--